Horseback in Queenstown

Luckily I was on the afternoon shift for the horse ride, which meant I had all morning to explore Queenstown!  I walked around the downtown, got myself a yummy Fergburger for lunch, and shopped for trinkets. I boarded the shuttle bus to Dart Stables with my friends Paula and Caroline, we were ready for an adventure.  The drive from Queenstown to Glenorchy (about 45 min away) was one of the most breathtaking drives I’ve ever had the pleasure of experiencing in my life.  Even though I was bumping along in a bus, I still managed to get some great pictures!  We arrived in Glenorchy, and got suited up to go horseback riding in sweet oilskin coats.  The town is tiny, we rode through it after getting on our gorgeous horses.  Mine was named Ginger, he was a bit feisty and kept nipping the butt of the horse in front of me!  He also wanted to stop and eat everything on the path. But most horses to do that.  Lol.

We embarked on our epic riverside ride, and spent the next two hours learning about the different movies that had been filmed using these very same horses.  We took in the amazing scenery and even got to trot along the path!  The horseback crew at Dart Stables also stopped at a particularly scenic spot and took pics of all of us, which was nice!  I loved the ride, the view of the mountains and surrounding area was unbeatable, It will be burned into my memory forever.  I especially liked when we got to wade through the river on horseback, although the horses hated it!

When I got back there was barely time to freshen up and get the horse smell from me and get to dinner, which was at a steakhouse nearby.  We had a fun dinner, comparing stories about all of our activities that had happened during the day (there were over 15 activities to choose from!) and eating our delicious food.  There wasn’t much time for anything else that night, we had to get up at some ridiculous hour to get on our way to Milford Sound, there were only two days left of the tour!

Categories: New Zealand | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Horseback in Queenstown

  1. Pingback: The Longest Ride of my Life | Round the World Travels 2013

  2. Pingback: Amazing Dublin Street House by Kerr Ritchie in Queenstown - HOMELITEDESIGNS

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

